Solving the Quadratic Equation— Did we just discover a better way?

Daniel Moriarty
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJan 19, 2020

--

A new method was just published in 2019. Here’s how to use it.

First a disclaimer…

Math!

There. It’s out in the open. Now that I’ve said it - and I’m hoping you’ve recovered from this initial shock (my apologies) - we can continue.

I do this for your own safety.

“Yes,

This article discusses math.

Let us carry on.”

-me

I aim to keep the following explanation short. Really short.

Short enough that you can explain the method to your friends. Maybe explain it at a nerdy dinner party? Use it to impress your in-laws. Or better yet, I want it simple enough for you to explain to your dog*.

*Assuming that you and your dog have a common understanding around when it is, and is not, okay to discuss mathematical curios of the 21st century.

*Your dog may also need an 8th-grade level understanding of mathematical fundamentals; in order to follow your compelling explanation. (Of course only when you two are in consensus to discuss it). Just putting that out there.

--

--

Daniel Moriarty
The Startup

Scientist, inventor, technologist and engineer ⚡Writing about all things technology and culture.