Standing On The Dock Waiting for Your Ship to Come In

You May Be There For A While If You Never Send One Out

P.G. Barnett
The Startup

--

Zig Ziglar, one of the most venerated motivational speakers of our time, author of over twenty books, and a phenomenal salesperson once said:

“Most people stand on the dock of life waiting for their ship to come in when deep down inside they know it has never left port”

I admit even I struggle with drydocking some of my work. I’ve written four separate novels, a series if you will, and three of them are published. The fourth manuscript is still sitting on my computer, edited by a professional editor and me and ready to go.

But it hasn’t. And I really don’t know why.

This last ship of mine has never left port.

But to my credit, I was able to stand on the dock as three of them went out. Unfortunately, all three sailed around for a bit and either sank or returned to port with barren holds. Three different times I built a ship, christened it (with a bottle of Boone’s Farm or the like. Couldn’t afford champagne), and watched these creations of mine slip from drydock into the water.

--

--

P.G. Barnett
The Startup

A published author enjoying married Texas bliss. Dog person living with cats. A writer of Henry James' stories. Featured In MuckRack. Top Writer In Fiction.