How To Start A Business With No Money

Or if you’re seriously in a very bad debt

Marilyn Wo
The Startup
Published in
10 min readMay 21, 2019

--

With half a million dollars in debt, I was lost. This was my own doing: getting married, having a baby and getting our own home shouldn’t all come together at one shot, but they did. Especially in Singapore where housing isn’t cheap (you’d be lucky to find an 800 sq ft HDB flat at US$180,000), I must say we could have been smarter about our lives.

Back then, my husband and I were both freelance graphic designers. The thing about freelancing is this, you may be able to work for many clients and earn as much as you deserve, but there is just that many clients you can serve in a day.

Also, as a freelancer, my clients were free to stop working with us anytime. Well, this can happen in any business as well. But our mistake came from our negligence to get the word out about our service so as to maintain the incoming flow of new clients.

Somehow in 2013, the year my first son was born, suddenly all my clients stopped working with us. It wasn’t about the quality of our service, it wasn’t because we were unlikable or shy. Just so happened they didn’t have anything that needed design help.

At the same time, I was so burned out from our previous work and babysitting that I wanted to give up freelance designing…

--

--