Data Science / Regression / Crowdfunding / Social Media / Entrepreneur

Startups Assessment using Machine Learning

An analysis of startup survival and impact of social media on it using simple data science

Sagar Daswani
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJul 2, 2020

--

In one of my academic projects, I was introduced to a sponsor company RedCrow which works with early-stage startups and helps them with their desired crowdfunding. And we were asked to come up with a solution that helps their client/startups achieve their desired goal effectively.

This was a very interesting project for me, because the previous year 2019, I got a chance to work at a startup where I came across many strategies they use to survive as a small startup company. So I became intrigued by how actually startups survive. I was curious to know if advanced analytics methods help us predict if a startup will survive or fail? As we all know the nature of a startup is meant to be unpredictable, I was curious to dig if possible, some insights through data.

In addition to this, RedCrow is a crowdfunding platform, where marketing campaigns play a major role that helps startups achieve their desired goals in a given period of time. So I got inclined towards an idea, how a startup can reach too many/crowd in just a short span of time? Social Media came to my mind and I started exploring how social media features impact a startups survival or performance? I assure you that results are promising, just…

--

--

Sagar Daswani
The Startup

Data Scientist | Machine Learning Engineer | Business Intelligence | “I can make your data tell a story”