Step-by-Step Guide to Launching a Successful Kickstarter campaign

Step-by-Step Guide to Launching a Successful Kickstarter campaign

Cathryn Lavery
The Startup
Published in
20 min readFeb 15, 2016

--

In August 2015, we launched a Kickstarter campaign to fund our new product, SELF Journal. This started as a passion project between myself and my accountability partner, Allen, and after a successful Kickstarter campaign emerged as a business in BestSelf.

I’m going to walk you through the exact process we used to figure out where to launch, when to launch, how much to ask for and everything else along the way that we used to generate $322, 696 in funding and later over $75K in pre-orders.

I’ll share what we did right, what we did wrong and everything in between.

A few caveats before we start:

  • Launching on Kickstarter is a whole lot of work. If you’re looking for a get rich quick scheme, this isn’t it.
  • I wrote this to explain step-by-step how we did it to bring clarity to the process and show you what’s possible from people who started with just an idea, no list, and no internet fame.
  • My goal is for you to finish this post thinking “I can do that.” and then for you to email me in six months and share the results of…

--

--