Stop Getting Caught Up in the Details and Take Action

You’re wasting precious time obsessing when you could be doing the damn thing.

Sarah Aboulhosn
The Startup

--

Photo by Ben Hershey on Unsplash

I want to start a new blog. I’ve been toying with the idea for a few weeks and have done a damn thing about it. I’m learning a lot about SEO and ranking blog posts and think it would be a fun project to try and rank a site.

Here’s my problem. I keep getting caught up in things that do not matter.

I’ve been down this road before. I started and abandoned dozens of blogs for reasons that are irrelevant right now. But I’m no stranger to getting stuck in the process of JUST STARTING.

First was the name of the site. I’ve spent countless hours brainstorming names, trying useless online business name generators, typing random words into GoDaddy to see what domains were available. Then if a domain was available, I would go to Instagram and Twitter and see if it was available there. Because for some reason congruency among the names is something that’s really important to me. (Hint: it’s not. I was stalling)

Then once I spent a week figuring out a name and domain, I went into an internet spiral of articles about which website host and builder was the best choice. Thanks for freelancing and client work, I’ve used pretty much every…

--

--

Sarah Aboulhosn
The Startup

Occasional writer, and serial project-starter/abandoner. I have a lot of feelings.