Stop Saying “You Only Live Once”!

Kristina H
The Startup
Published in
5 min readFeb 12, 2019

--

Life is funny.

There are those people who live every day to the fullest, the folks who wake each day in a state of anxiety or stress, and the ones in between.

Everyone Has a Choice

I am not here to lecture you, or to write a listicle of the reasons why you need to be happy every day, just because you woke up and have a heartbeat.

But, we all have a choice.

We have a choice to smile and feel blessed to see a sunrise. We have a choice to pull ourselves, groggily out of bed, and make a coffee to start a day of unkowns. Some of us have the choice to stay in bed and fear the world, or push ourselves to get up and go to work.

Whatever the choice is- You are ALIVE.

You have a heartbeat, you are breathing, and you have the ability to choose how you live.

I spend my weekdays silently struggling with myself, unless I have a concrete plan ahead of me. If I need to be at a certain place, at a certain time, I will make it happen. Alternatively, if I have a wide open day, but still need to accomplish tasks for work, I argue with myself, try and make a plan. Then I try to stick with it. Having anxiety can be a struggle, but I manage.

--

--

Kristina H
The Startup

Writer of relationships / early childhood and mental health . Poetry and fiction dabbler