Strong Willpower Defeats Adversity. How My Injury Led To Self-Improvement

Ray Veguilla
The Startup
Published in
4 min readMay 4, 2018

Adversity causes some men to break; others to break records. — William Arthur Ward

Photo by Colton Duke on Unsplash

I didn’t break any records. But, I did almost break my ankle.

I was playing basketball. I landed on my left ankle and dislocated it.

I remember looking down at my foot facing inward. Feeling an overwhelming sensation of numbness.

I knew it was bad. I was lucky that I didn’t need surgery.

For the next 8 weeks, I could not walk.

I usually workout 6 time times per week.

Not anymore, I could only tolerate some weights and ab work. (No more leg day!)

I work full-time in a hospital and take courses.

Not anymore, I couldn’t walk. I could only do some take homework and study.

I live in an apartment in Boston.

Not anymore, I had to move in with my family.

Never, never, never give up. — Winston Churchill

My injury made me transition from independence to dependence in an instant.

The easy thing would’ve been to have a negative attitude.

To blame the injury on something. To complain about the pain. To worry about the work I had a makeup.

I could have been miserable and wasted my time away doing unproductive things.

The first couple days were depressing and I gave into the adversity.

Then I had an epiphany.

My mindset shifted.

Yes, the injury was unfortunate, but I realized giving up when there is adversity is a waste of time and energy.

I had to accept reality.

I decided to focus my time and energy on improving my mind.

While I was bedridden from my injury:

  • I read 6 books.
  • Built a website.
  • Started meditating.
  • Took two courses in writing.
  • Started writing every day.
  • Focused on nutrition to recover quick.
  • Started writing on medium.

I worked on myself like it was a full time job.

I took the bad situation and molded it into something that would be beneficial.

I was able to shut out the negative thoughts and only focus on what I can do to feel happy and fulfilled.

The past is behind you. You can only control the present moment and lay the foundation for the future.

Too many times people make excuses for things that have happened to them. It is hard not to fall into this way of thinking. I did it, but I was able to break free.

Life will always throw you challenges. Some people have harder challenges than what I went through. Then went on to do more.

Regardless, one thing remains true. The mindset to overcome adversity is a constant principle.

It is strong willpower. Intense focus by acting on your long-term goals of life, no matter the circumstance.

Giving up is never an answer.

The reality is:

The journey is never ending. There’s always gonna be growth, improvement, adversity; you just gotta take it all in and do what’s right, continue to grow, continue to live in the moment. — Antonio Brown

Without strong willpower, it is inevitable that life will overwhelm you. The adversity will chip away at your mental core until nothing is left besides negative thoughts.

By changing your outlook on adversity, you can change your thoughts to implement positive change.

Now:

I love adversity. Adversity is an opportunity to grow stronger.

I look back and think that this injury has made me a better person.

Photo by Brandon Morgan on Unsplash

Next time life throws a storm at you, don’t underestimate your potential to use the opportunity to grow as a person.

Use willpower. Stay positive. Live life on your terms!

Before you go….

It is my mission to help you have the healthiest life possible. Join my newsletter and get a free superfood checklist to help improve your overall health! (click here)

This story is published in The Startup, Medium’s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by 321,672+ people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

--

--

Ray Veguilla
The Startup

Health and motivation tips from experience + research. More writing: https://linktr.ee/rayveguilla