Stunnel + OpenVPN Server on Ubuntu 16.04

Jayden Chua
The Startup
Published in
8 min readJun 24, 2019

--

My documented journey as I go through the entire process of setting up Stunnel + OpenVPN on Ubuntu 16.04.

Pre-requisites

The article assumes you already have a Ubuntu 16.04 machine setup somewhere. This can either be on AWS, DigitalOcean, Linode, Aliyun or any other locations. Here are is the list of articles on how I setup the server with the different cloud providers.

  • AWS
  • DigitalOcean
  • Linode
  • Aliyun
  • Azure

Before you read-on, currently, I haven’t found a way to get this to work on iOS. So if anyone knows how to setup a Client on iOS that uses Stunnel and OpenVPN, please share!

Incase you are interested in using Ubuntu 18.04 instead, I’ve also documented my process here.

Installing required software

We will be installing these applications. OpenVPN, Stunnel and Easy-RSA.

$ sudo apt-get install openvpn…

--

--

Jayden Chua
The Startup

An avid web developer constantly looking for new web technologies to dabble in, more information can be found on bit.ly/jayden-chua