Success in Life Often Comes Down to One Question

What are the things that failures don’t like to do?

Jake Wilder
The Startup

--

“It became very clear to me sitting out there today, that every decision I’ve ever made, in my entire life, has been wrong. My life is the opposite of everything I want it to be. Every instinct I have, in every aspect of life, be it something to wear, something to eat… It’s all been wrong,” complained George Costanza in the classic Seinfeld episode, The Opposite. Jerry would then prompt him to do the opposite of his instincts, suggesting, “If every instinct you have is wrong, then the opposite would have to be right.”

This wisdom transforms George from his loveless, unemployed self to an executive with the New York Yankees that’s dating a woman well outside his league. Even more impressive is that he manages to do it all in the span of 22 minutes.

Jerry’s advice may be simple, but it’s often these simple points that help clarify some of our toughest decisions in life.

We know that our success depends on our ability to make hard choices. But hard choices are hard for a reason. They go against our instincts. I would much rather hit snooze in the morning than wake up early and exercise. It’s only by doing the opposite that I can be in better shape and start my day with more energy.

--

--

Jake Wilder
The Startup

I don’t know where I’m going. But at least I know how to get there.