SwiftUI, In-App Purchases and RevenueCat

Thomas Ricouard
The Startup
Published in
3 min readMay 29, 2020

--

How to implement in app purchases & subscription in a SwiftUI application

In my latest open source SwiftUI project, AC Helper (an Animal Crossing companion application) that I released on the App Store, I’ve decided to add a monthly and yearly subscription alongside a one time lifetime in app purchase.

You can find the source of the project here:

And download the application on the App Store here:

Initially I wanted to implement the in app purchase myself using StoreKit, and I actually had it working, but for subscriptions I had to handle so many edge cases, check the receipt etc…(which should all be built in feature of StoreKit). And I’ve also I’ve heard so many good words about RevenueCat that I had to try it. So I deleted my implementation and implemented their SDK.

--

--

Thomas Ricouard
The Startup

📱 🚀 🇫🇷 [Entrepreneur, iOS/Mac & Web dev] | Now @Medium, @Glose 📖| Past @google 🔍 | Co-founded few companies before, a movies 🎥 app and smart browser one.