Ten Money Lessons I’m Only Learning Now at Age 36 (That Blew My Mind)

“The worthless land he got gifted is now worth more than the $350,000 he had stolen from him”

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
8 min readApr 15, 2023

--

Photo by Jacob Riesel via Pexels

When a big payday approaches life can look glorious.

Until it blows up in your face.

That’s what happened to a friend of mine. Outside of his office job, he did some property investments on the side. One day it came time for the investments to be sold and for him to get his $350,000 cut.

Unfortunately, a family member of his business partner changed the name on the property deed to his own. The property slipped away from my friend’s hands. Everything he’d worked for, gone.

No savings. A business partner gone forever.

This story has stayed with me for years. I never quite understood how someone could recover from that until a similar situation happened to me and I lost $1.2M.

But I didn’t lose my sh*t. This story from a friend gave me the blueprint of what to do. There’s a cool ending to this story …

I recently learned my friend has been in a legal battle over this property theft for 6+ years. He’d already considered the money gone forever.

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb