The 1-Hour Side Hustle Formula

“Focus on being consistently good over occasionally great”

Eve Arnold
The Startup

--

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

Stumbling through my twenties was the catalyst for finding my side hustle. I found writing through a pinch of pot-luck and a whole lot of necessity. It was a few years into the working world that I realised I needed an outlet for my mind. The trouble was, finding the time was tricky. The reality was between travel, cooking, cleaning and all the other life stuff, time was tight and energy was in short supply.

I’ve been working with small pockets of time here and there. I’ve had half an hour in the morning between getting ready and a cup of coffee and a small window of opportunity in the evening to churn out articles. Over the last 2 years, I’ve learnt to write when I didn’t feel like it, to adopt habits that help me focus and to build routines that allow me to churn out 5 articles a week.

I’ve realised a sobering reality about building a side hustle. You don’t need bags of time. In fact, you don’t need much time at all. By my calculations, you need 1 hour per day to achieve your side hustle dreams. Here are the 5 components of the 1-hour side hustle formula.

Environment (quality x 0.5% increase + praise + ‘bad day’ mechanisms) = 1-hour side hustle

--

--