The 5 Minute Raspberry Pi Setup Guide without External Display, Keyboard or Mouse

Jayden Chua
The Startup
Published in
3 min readMar 29, 2020

--

Setup your raspberry directly from your Windows, macOS or Linux machine without the need for any extra I/O devices.

Overview

So I wanted to set up the new raspberry pi 4 that I purchased recently, but I forgot to purchase the micro HDMI cable?! I really didn’t want to pay for this cable since my raspberry was never every really going to need a display other than for the initial installation. So this guide will show you how to quickly set this up so you can get on with your projects.

Pre-requisites

  1. Raspberry Pi (Any version)
  2. Computer (Windows, macOS or Linux)
  3. microSD card
  4. Router (cable or wifi)

Pre-Installation

Before we get started, I just wanted to explain quickly how this is going to be done. We’re going to burn the raspian image on to the the microSD, allow ssh to raspberry pi and finally setup the wifi configuration before we put the microSD card into the raspberry pi.

Rasbian

Ok, first, we need to download the rasbian image, next we need to burn it. So, go ahead and download the latest rasbian light image. The rasbian…

--

--

Jayden Chua
The Startup

An avid web developer constantly looking for new web technologies to dabble in, more information can be found on bit.ly/jayden-chua