The 6 Most Important Lessons I Learned From Blogging 5 Days a Week for 2.5 Years

Here’s what I wish I knew when I was just starting out

Eve Arnold
The Startup

--

Photo by Yael Gonzalez on Unsplash

Rewind 2.5 years, my daily writing output was 0 words, today I hit 3 hours of consistent work most days.

Today if I decide I’m starting a new project I can shift my focus and go all in.

It’s pretty incredible.

Here are my 6 best lessons from 2.5 years of blogging on the internet.

1. It’s not about avoiding bad days, it’s about planning for them

There was a time I would avoid bad days like the plague.

A bad mood would mean the day was a write-off. I’d pray that the bad days would stay well away from me because if they came round the corner, I knew I lose the whole day’s productivity.

Now, I don’t.

If I wake up and it’s a bad day, I’ve got mechanisms I can use to make the day less bad:

  • Go for a morning stroll with my dogs.
  • Read interesting things from people I admire.
  • Get inspired by people doing way better than I am.

--

--