The Average Employee Works 3 Hours Out Of Every 8

How to find 1–2 hours a day to achieve your career goals in half the time.

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
5 min readApr 5, 2019

--

Image Credit: Andrew Baker

Many of us go to work each day and don’t feel like working. It’s normal and even the most motivated people experience days like this. If I’m honest, at least two out of every five days, are days I don’t feel as though I want to work.

The thought of having to post another blog post, find another image for an article, navigate another team members crisis at work, or talk to another client that wants to rip my face off because their business is failing, can make wanting to go to work a difficult endeavor.

Numerous studies have shown that the average employee only works three out of a typical eight hour work day. Why is that?

Many of us only work a small part of our work day because we lack two things:

#1 Self-discipline

The average employee does such little work because they don’t practice self-discipline. It’s easier to gossip about other colleagues, complain about the company, and procrastinate by talking about TV shows from the night before.

I don’t believe for a second that the average worker is stupid and wastes time on purpose. I believe that self-discipline doesn’t come…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb