The Best Fiction Books I Read in 2020

Joe Forrest
The Startup
Published in
10 min readDec 16, 2020

--

Thank God for fiction in 2020.

With many of us spending more time indoors this year than normal, books offered a welcome escape from both the walls of homes and the nightmarish news cycle. I was no exception, and I got a lot of reading accomplished by year’s end.

At the beginning of the year, I challenged myself to read more fiction by women and minority voices. Looking back at my previous end-of-year lists, I found them to be primarily written by white and male authors. If you’re looking to expand your worldview and empathy, I strongly recommend placing a priority on reading books written from different perspectives and life experiences than your own. Doing this in 2020 blessed me immensely (and led to some of my favorite reads of the year).

Without further ado, here’s my list of the best fiction books I read in 2020.

10

The Incendiaries — R.O. Kwon

After Will transfers from a private Bible college to a public university, he meets Phoebe, a carefree spirit who appears to be everything Will is not. Both seeking an escape from past traumas, the two young college students begin a physically-charged and emotionally-intense relationship.

--

--

Joe Forrest
The Startup

Joe Forrest writes on the intersection of faith, culture, secularism, and politics.