The Bigger Your Dream Is, the Earlier You Have to Wake Up

“Working smart” is a privilege you might not have yet.

Sinem Günel
The Startup
Published in
7 min readApr 1, 2021

--

Photo by Khoa Võ from Pexels

In the past three years, I supported hundreds of people to increase their productivity. I hosted dozens of workshops until Covid forced me to switch to webinars.

No matter if in-person or online, my key message was always the same: Eliminate distractions and work smarter, not harder.

And for most of my attendees, this advice works perfectly.

It works because they don’t have ambitious goals. All they want is to finish their studies, get their job done efficiently, and have more free time.

However, there’s a limit to “working smart” that most people overlook or consciously ignore.

You can only work smart if you’ve done the hard work first

I read Girlboss by award-winning entrepreneur Sophia Amoruso when I was 19 years old.

Amoruso launched her entrepreneurial journey with a simple eBay store back in 2006. She’s the woman who inspired me to start dreaming of building my own thing instead of pursuing a corporate career.

“Figure out what you love doing and don’t suck at, then try to figure…

--

--

Sinem Günel
The Startup

I help you create a business and life you love. ⚡ Start here: https://mwa.ck.page/5day