The Case for Being a Weekend Warrior

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
6 min readDec 11, 2018

--

Image Credit: Shutterstock

Working on your passion, side-hustle, hobby, etc has its limitations.

My passion is blogging and I’m a weekend warrior.

A weekend warrior is someone who has a normal job and then works on their passion over the weekend.

In this article, I’m going to change that meaning slightly and say that a weekend warrior is someone that has a normal job and works on their passion outside work hours. I thought about the advantages of being a weekend warrior.

Sometimes the restrictions you have are your greatest advantage.

For a lot us, we just want to get home from work to pursue our passion.

We tell ourselves the lie that if we could only find a way to do it full-time we’d be set.

Trialing a passion full-time

I tried it with my blogging. I did it full-time. I thought it was the answer to all my dreams.

You know what happened?

I sat at home and didn’t write. I watched movies, read books and told myself “You got all the time in the world pal to blog, so take it easy.”

I always had another thing to do before I could write.

Some days it was meditation, the gym and then helping my girlfriend with…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb