The Dark Side of Airbnb That Nobody Talks About is What Stops Me From Investing in It

We need to stop glamorizing certain side hustles.

Desiree Peralta
The Startup

--

Photo by George Becker

When I hear about Airbnb as a business, I only listen to positive things. In theory, it seems to be the business that will finally make you financially free: “You will earn thousands of dollars monthly,” “Is the easiest business to manage,” “you can make it passive by hiring an administrator.”

However, I have always had my doubts, especially since something cannot be completely perfect.

A few months ago, I was closely analyzing this business because of a housing opportunity I got in the coastal area of the island where I live. The dark side I found about this business affirmed all my doubts about starting it.

What surprises me most about what I discovered is that almost nobody talks about it. The only negative side I always heard was about the housing cost and the issues with the locals who already lived there, but it sounded like the perfect business on paper.

For that reason, I decided to write a post about these specific issues so you are aware of them if you want to start this business eventually.

The whole process of dealing with tourists is a nightmare.

--

--

Desiree Peralta
The Startup

Turning ideas into reality. Programmer by profession, Writer by passion. Finance and business advice. | Weekly money advice https://dessyperalt.substack.com/