How to get your customers to advertise for you

Michelle Wiles 🪄📈
The Startup
Published in
5 min readNov 30, 2019

--

Today when I went into the bathroom at work, I spotted a pink, bubble wrap makeup pouch on the counter. My mind jumped immediately to the creator of this bubble wrapper pouch, cosmetics unicorn Glossier. I wondered which Glossier products my coworker uses, and if I should give them a try.

This isn’t the first time I have seen the pink bubble wrapper bag be reused. And everytime I see it, it is a public endorsement for the product, which has to be worth more than an Instagram ad.

Glossier packaging, with pink bubble wrap pouch intact. Source: Hillsdale Collegian, Isabella Redjai

Lululemon is probably the best example to give away something useful to customers. When you purchase something at Lululemon, they give you a trademark laminated bag to tote your expensive new sportswear in. The bags are sturdy, waterproof, and come in the red, white and black shades of Lululemon’s logo. And they’re everywhere. People use them for gym visits, grocery runs, and even moving house. They’re that strong. As I am writing this, a man has walked into the cafe I am in with a white Lululemon tote. Looking at him, I can’t help think that the tote looks more like accessory than advertisement. And yet, while accessory it is for him, it’s a billboard for Lululemon.

--

--