The Empowering Nature of a Yarn bomb

Leslie Stahlhut
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJun 3, 2019

--

And why you might want to try it yourself

I have mixed feelings about yarn bombs.

My pragmatic and decidedly utilitarian side thinks that they are a waste of time and yarn.

My more whimsical side thinks that yarn bombs are fun and that fun is good.

Durham, North Carolina

My first experience participating in the creation of a yarn bomb was in March of 2011. A crochet guild I was active in at the time had set as one of our community projects the yarn bombing of “Major,” a large bronze sculpture of a bull, located in downtown Durham, North Carolina. Whatever argument I might have had with myself, the whimsical side won out and not only did I make large pieces of crochet for inclusion in the overall design, I helped put the finishing touches on the piece:

Me, Leslie Stahlhut, doing some final seaming on a yarn bombing of Major Bull in downtown Durham, North Carolina
Me on a ladder doing some final seaming of the yarn bomb

It was an interesting project that got a fair amount of attention, but while I was glad I participated, I still didn’t have a clear sense of the power of yarn bombing.

Richmond, Virginia

My next encounter with a yarn bomb came a couple of months later. My husband and I had driven to Annapolis for the day to see the Raleigh Boychoir (of which my youngest son was a member) sing the prelude for the Protestant Baccalaureate service at…

--

--

Leslie Stahlhut
The Startup

Crocheter on a mission to make the world a better place — one stitch at a time. Twitter: @crochetbug. Crochet blog: https://www.crochetbug.com