The Experience Will Look Good On Your Resume

Alice Vuong
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJul 19, 2018

--

And other things to stop chasing when it comes to work

Photo by G. Crescoli on Unsplash

We live in a world controlled by status, money, prestige and fancy titles.

We’ve learned to respect someone with the title of Chief anything, to be in awe of the bank account more than the hard work or passion, the fancy cars and big houses leave us drooling and wanting more than what we already have.

I can’t even count the number of times someone has said to me, “The experience will look good on your resume” or something of the like.

Is the appearance of being successful all we’re supposed to strive for?

Are looks more important than the actual experience?

I left a huge company just as they announced that I was going to make management level. Yes, the title would’ve looked great on my resume, the role would’ve given me more opportunities for advancement at the firm and in other industries, and I would’ve made more money, gained more leadership and management skills.

I left.

I turned it down to work for a public institution making much less and with less room to advance. But at least I believe in the vision and mission of the organization now, I no longer work 14 hour days plus weekends, and I’m happier for it.

--

--