The Financial Advice Everyone in Their 20’s Needs to Hear

Jonah Malin
Published in
4 min readJan 29, 2020

--

I recently listened to an interview between NBA star Chris Paul and Men’s Health Magazine. Paul discussed what he did with his first big paycheck from an agent and reflected on some of the worst purchases he’s ever made.

Towards the end, Paul starts talking about how he views money differently now that he is a little bit older.

Instead of chasing clothes and cars as he did in his younger years, Paul craves experiences. He wants memories that will last forever. And this got me thinking about what I had learned about money up to this point.

My perspective on finances has changed drastically since graduating from college. I had almost nothing in my bank account, a stockpile of loans to pay off, and few resources to help guide my direction.

Things are much different now.

At 24, I have a lot left to learn about finances. But one fundamental truth has stuck out to me more than anything else:

It’s not about how much money you make. It’s about what you do with your money to keep it that counts.

Discipline Is The Key.

Without discipline, your money will never last. A lot of people spend more than…

--

--

Jonah Malin
The Startup

Words that perform like Joaquin, sing like Celine, get remembered like Dean, & ooze tigers blood like Sheen.