The Future Can’t Be Predicted but It Can Lead You to Healing

Emily Stroia
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJul 14, 2019

--

how i found myself one self-help class at a time

Photo by Motoki Tonn on Unsplash

I am a former self-help new-age junkie. I’ve paid thousands of dollars to psychics, mediums, healers, hypnotherapists, therapists, meditation teachers.

You name it, I’ve probably done it.

If you are anything like me you might be someone who dabbles into the woo-woo.

If you are someone in desperate need of healing you might accidentally fall into the woo-woo world.

That was me.

I fell into the woo-woo world for over 10 years.

I went to my first psychic when I was 21 years old.

It wasn’t really what she said as so much what I felt in our sessions. I don’t know if it was the crystal balls or the tarot cards but I was hooked.

In a way I saw myself in her.

She opened a door for me to be curious.

I think I always had a spiritual side to me but I was afraid to show it.

Or perhaps express it.

After our psychic readings I psychic-hopped for a while comparing her predictions to others.

--

--

Emily Stroia
The Startup

Psych therapist in training. I write about mental health, trauma, well-being, and spirituality. Stay for a while. www.emilystroia.com