The Goal in Life Should Be to Become Unemployable

It’s not what you think and has nothing to do with being a beach bum

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJan 26, 2023

--

Photo by Kenzie Kraft on Unsplash

The headline is easy to misunderstand.

Unemployable doesn’t mean quit your job and be a beach bum with a laptop for the rest of your life.

If you think that you’re high on 4-Hour Workweek kool-aid.

What it means to be unemployable

When I worked in banking I met a few rich elites.

They looked, smelt and talked like the rest of us. There was one difference. The lanyard they wore around their neck with a security tag on it had a different color to mine.

But they ate in the same lunchroom. I eventually got to sit next to this group of miscolored lanyard warriors. They had one big difference.

They didn’t get a salary.

They were misfits known as contractors, freelancers, or consultants. In some cases they were small business owners who just came to the bank I worked at to work a short stint. Then they knick off to their next gig.

These guys and gals were unemployable.

Instead of a salary they sent my employer an invoice. The subtle difference is they got to get paid faster, not…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb