The Importance of Untouchable Hours

Keep the appointments you make with yourself

Jeannette Goon
The Startup

--

“What are you busy with after this?” he asked. I was out with a friend for dinner and I’d told him that I would have to leave by 9pm.

I’m going home, I told him. Apparently, this was an “unacceptable” reason to end a night out early. “No way, you’re coming out for drinks with me,” he said.

“No I can’t, I have plans,” I said. From the look on his face, I was sure that he’d took it to mean that I was going home to either: a) ravish my husband or b) keep to a curfew. The correct answer was… neither.

I had made plans with myself — made them official by putting it down in my calendar.

One thing I’ve always found strange is that when we make plans like that with other people, we would hesitate to cancel them. So why is it that we’re so ready to give up the plans that we make with ourselves?

How do you handle so many things at once?

If I had a FAQ page, this question would be close to the top.

At the time of this writing I am: working at my content studio, just about to begin a round of fundraising for one of my projects, and building a farm-to-table marketplace. I also bartend on weekends.

--

--

Jeannette Goon
The Startup

Content marketer with "too many" side interests – trying to connect all the dots, sharing what I learn along the way. 🧶 jeannette.io