The Intense Freelance Performance Review That Fixed My Career

And a free template so you can do the same.

Ted Moreno
The Startup

--

Photo by Michael Burrows from Pexels

Freelancing is a fairytale idea for many people.

Once you’ve started to sign clients and collect payments, it can feel like you’re on top of the world. A genuine Bezos, the man in charge of his destiny.

But when there’s no one to monitor your progress, push you to do more, or tell you what’s going wrong, are you actually holding yourself back?

A freelancer has the freedom to work with who they want, the hours they want, and on projects they enjoy. That’s part of the allure, but someone going at it alone is entirely responsible for everything.

And if you suck at being your own champion, your solo hero’s journey is not going to light up the history books.

My 1st freelance anniversary is fast approaching, which is exciting and scary. When I sat myself down to review my performance, I realized two things:

  1. I really did this for an entire year, and I’m in the black!
  2. I left a lot of money on the table for no good reason.

It’s that second point that really gets to me. If I’d been more proactive, my career (and bank balance) would be much further along.

--

--

Ted Moreno
The Startup

Building focus thieves and making internet content better for everyone. Weekly newsletter: www.focusthieves.com