The Leadership Principles You Can Learn From Parenting

Great parents make the best leaders.

Marvin Marcano
The Startup

--

There is no greater leadership challenge than parenting — Jim Rohn

After my daughter was born, I recognized a change in my attitude. I smiled a bit more. Things did not bother me as much; there were bigger fish to fry. And of course, I became a lot more empathetic to parents around me. But there was also a change in my leadership principles.

At that time, I was leading a team of 15. As the years progressed, the extra work of becoming a parent did not impact my professional life. It helped my work.

Why?

Parenting is leadership.

Great parenting comes from the heart.

And so does great leadership.

I’d argue it’s the highest and most important form of leadership entrusted to a human. You learn on the fly, with the starting point of not harming your little one. Whether or not you’re a parent, add these leadership principles to your style.

Do What You Say You’re Going To Do

Parenting in the past was a lot of ‘do as I say, not as I do.’ Now, it’s important to lead by example. Kids remember every move you…

--

--

Marvin Marcano
The Startup

Personal Development, Fereelancing, and Writing. Becoming a better person. You should too.