The LeetCode Phenomenon

S. G.
The Startup
Published in
6 min readNov 9, 2020

--

In the winter of 2015, I was working as a Software Engineer at Microsoft and looking for my next Software Engineering job (here’s why), albeit with little success. I remember expressing my frustration to a friend over a velvety Stout beer at a funky bar in Seattle’s Ballard neighborhood on a cold, rainy November night. I remember his words clearly:

“So, there is this platform which sort of lets you game the System”

That’s when I first heard about LeetCode- a programming platform which has now become the staple for coding interview preparation. The platform consists of interview style coding questions with an integrated, online IDE which lets you submit and verify the correctness of your solution. It also contains a stack-overflow style discussion forum which lets you post and upvote/downvote solutions to the problems.

Today, if you are interview prepping, you’re going to have to spend some late evenings practicing interview problems on LeetCode. In the words of one of my good friends and colleague:

LeetCode is the great equalizer. Whether you are interviewing for an internship, as a fresh grad just out of college, or as a seasoned Engineering Manager, you’d better be LeetCoding.

I crawled home from the bar that November evening and started practicing problems on LeetCode. Over the next few weeks I…

--

--

S. G.
The Startup

I write about programming, people management, interviews or anything else that I’m obsessing about. 12+ yes of experience across big tech and some in academia.