The Math Behind Life as an Average American

Why people live paycheck to paycheck.

Lindy Gullett, PhD
The Startup

--

You might be like me. I never worry about how to pay for tonight’s dinner. If I got a $1,200 check, I’d probably buy something cool or stash the money away for a rainy day. Not being able to pay rent, having to move back home with mom and dad. That sounds embarrassing, nay horrifying. But I never worry about whether I will have a roof over my head and food in my belly.

If you are like me, you are lucky. We are lucky. Growing up, we never had to pretend that we “forgot” our lunch. We didn’t have to work a full-time job during college. We don’t have credit card debt constantly weighing on our mind.

If the coronavirus has any silver linings, one of them is bringing the experience of normal Americans into focus. More of us are realizing that there are two groups of Americans — people with a savings that acts as their safety net and people who live paycheck to paycheck.

Sixty-nine percent of Americans have less than $1,000 in their savings account.

Photo by StellrWeb on Unsplash

Imagine your 18 year old self. But let’s add a twist to your life story. In this alternate universe, you spent your whole life hungry. Literally hungry. If you ate too much, there wouldn’t be enough food for your little brother. If you ate too little, you’d regret it…

--

--

Lindy Gullett, PhD
The Startup

PhD in Social Psychology from NYU. Here to tell stories about people, their lives, and their communities.