The Morning Produces the Best Flow States

Productivity expert Jari Roomer makes it easy to understand why without being a navy seal.

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
6 min readMay 24, 2021

--

Flow states can make you feel superhuman.

Learning more about flow states allows you to understand how you can tweak them further to enhance their powerful effect. Jari Roomer has been writing about flow states as much as I have. He’s an expert in the field and has a newsletter dedicated to productivity. The phrase flow state comes up often. Jari has experimented more with flow than anyone else I’ve come across.

One insight left me gasping for oxygen: The morning produces the best flow states.

Your mental energy is highest in the morning

Information overload and distractions deplete your mental energy. It makes sense. After a good night’s sleep you feel revitalized. Your brain has been switched off. When you wake up in the morning your brain is fresh.

I wake up at 6 AM every day. I typically waste the first hour of the day because it takes that long for my brain to wake up. From 7 AM onwards would be the ideal time to work in a flow state. The problem?

I wasted the morning. I goofed off consuming shows like “The Voice” on Youtube and watching…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb