The Most Effective Pieces of Financial Advice I’ve Ever Received

“Wealth is not about having a lot of money. It’s about having a lot of options.”

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
6 min readAug 26, 2022

--

Image Credit-samaaenglish

Your beliefs about money come from your inner circle.

When I spent my time hanging around broke losers at shopping centers, smoking ciggies and whistling at chicks, my bank balance was zero. It stayed that way for years.

When I got out of the gutter and began going to conferences, networking online and reading finance books, the financial advice I got was unconventional.

Here are the six best tips I got on money.

Living below your means is a superpower

Lifestyle inflation is the real epidemic.

I can afford a Lambo. Yet I drive a piece of crap Honda Civic. Most days I don’t drive. I walk or catch the train. I bought my wife a family car recently. The registration has the name of a car dealership from an extremely poor area.

“Should we take the sticker off honey.”

“Nah, leave it on. Looking broke is good.”

This is a counter-intuitive way to think about money. Most people are desperate to look fake rich to show off or create envy.

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb