The Most Important Slides Hidden in Your Investor Pitch Deck

Aaron Dinin, PhD
The Startup
Published in
9 min readSep 17, 2020

--

Photo by Carlos Alberto Gómez Iñiguez on Unsplash

Entrepreneurial opportunities are everywhere, but startup investors can’t be experts in everything. This often creates a gap between what startup founders know about an industry and what the investors they’re pitching know. The knowledge gap is particularly exaggerated for founders in niche industries, where few if any investors are specialized, and it often causes lots of anxiety. They wonder: “How am I supposed to convince investors to invest when I can’t find investors that fully understand my industry?”

But the truth is closer to the opposite of what you might think. The gap in knowledge about a given industry between entrepreneurs and investors is a great asset when raising capital. This knowledge gap is what allows you to highlight the most important slides in your pitch deck that you’ve already got, but you’re probably hiding near the end.

To explain what I mean, let me start by sharing a story about a pitch I heard from an entrepreneur who was operating in an industry I knew nothing about.

Why entrepreneurs over-explain problems

Personally, I specialize in B2B marketing and sales tech companies with SaaS business models. That’s certainly not a small niche, but it’s still a niche. By that I mean there are hundreds of other types of…

--

--

Aaron Dinin, PhD
The Startup

I teach entrepreneurship at Duke. Software Engineer. PhD in English. I write about the mistakes entrepreneurs make since I’ve made plenty. More @ aarondinin.com