The Opposite Of Imposter Syndrome

Zsófia Vera
The Startup
Published in
9 min readNov 18, 2020

--

When rather than feeling unworthy, you feel acutely unseen

Photo by Khoa Võ from Pexels

You’re familiar with the feeling of being an imposter

This usually comes about when you’re invested in work that is close to your heart. It is characterised by a torrent of doubt and fear that invades your being just as you are about to start transmitting your truth, or reaching for your highest desires.

Yet, in essence, being an imposter means that you’re pretending to be someone that you’re not.

So, in this particular context, it’s useful to ask yourself :

  • Am I being out of integrity here?
    Have I strayed from my values and from my truth?
  • Or, is there a part of myself who does not yet identify with this being that I’m currently crafting, and is therefore seeking to hold me back?

Most likely, the answer will be the second one.

Rather than straying from yourself, you’re actually invested in expanding your identity beyond your current realm of being.

This is deeply disturbing to the part of you that is still so very much ensconced in a finite, rigid sort of definition of itself.

--

--

Zsófia Vera
The Startup

I bleed creativity. Writing about : film, music, healing, love, creative processes, obsession and identity. hello@zsofiavera.com