The Power Of Writing Things Down

Writing things down is the key to focused action

Michal Bernolak
The Startup

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

I’ve been running an experiment for the past few months. I wanted to track the output of my brain and see if it made any real difference in my life and the things that I manage to keep track of.

I kept a journal with me for almost a year. I would write down my day to day activities, including to-do lists and, most importantly, ten ideas for writing every day.

For the last month, I’ve stopped almost entirely. I’ve noticed a significant difference in the way I approach coming up with ideas and my general anxiety levels. My ideas have grown sparse, and my anxiety has flared up, back to pre-journaling levels.

A higher level of thinking

Write down the thoughts of the moment. Those that come unsought for are commonly the most valuable. — Francis Bacon

An idea or thought always starts with the most basic conception. It floats into your mind like a dandelion fluff picked up by a breeze. You reach out, seize it gently, and examine it.

Upon examination, you notice the fine details and maybe even pick at them further. Thoughts like this can become complex and exciting in your mind as you theorize and creatively explore further.

--

--

Michal Bernolak
The Startup

In the process of self discovery. I learned to write for over a year, but am now learning to code.