Psychology

The Psychology Behind Never Feeling Good Enough

And 9 definite ways to refocus your thinking and find the value in loving yourself

Elizabeth Karls
The Startup
Published in
8 min readFeb 4, 2020

--

Marianne Williamson wrote:

In our natural state, we are glorious beings. In the world of illusion, we are lost and imprisoned, slaves…Our jailer is a three-headed monster; one head our past, one our insecurity, and one our popular culture.

Photo by Jameson Mallari Atenta from Pexels

I recall vividly the first job interview I had after graduating from the University. I was 21 years old. I had only applied for the job because I was trying to improve my skills in job application and polishing up my CV. Getting invited for the interview had not been a part of my plan. I did not have much experience in formal employment, and I knew I was not good enough.

After a series of remote interview sessions, I was invited for an in-person interview. The interviewers were warm and welcoming and did their best to make me feel comfortable. I struggled because the whole time I kept telling myself that I did not deserve to be there. I was not good enough. The feedback comment for my rejection was, “She does not believe she is good enough, why should we?”

If you are anything like me, there have been points in your life where you never seem to feel…

--

--

Elizabeth Karls
The Startup

Clinical Psychologist in training. Mental Health advocate. Top writer in life, love, relationships, psychology. Write for us https://medium.com/clear-yo-mind