The Real Reason No one Is Reading Your Writing

A lesson from 2 years in the game

Eve Arnold
The Startup

--

Photo by Christian Sterk on Unsplash

It’s 5am and I’m writing again. It’s been this way for a while.

I’m 25 and I’ve just started this writing thing. It’s maybe the 45th day in the row of getting up early, sitting at my desk and pumping out words. Words that no one will look at.

I’m not giving up though, no no, I’m happy here, pumping out the words into the absque. It’s kind of liberating. But I did have to wonder, why was no one reading my work?

A journalist turned author

Charles Duhigg is an author. He was, for a long time, a New York Times reporter. You might recognise his name, he wrote the incredible ‘The Power of Habit’ which the Wired said was ‘absolutely fascinating’ and I’d agree.

The book sold more than 5 million copies world wide. That puts Charles in an elite group of authors that hit the million plus mark. He is what every writer dreams of. Someone that has made incredible success from his words.

As I read through The Power of Habit I was blown away by the number of brilliant stories that Duhigg had amassed. By the depth of the characters, the attention to detail, the clarity in his argument. From my little office in the middle of the UK I was transported around…

--

--