The Reality of Doing Our Own Thing: How I’d Avoid Repeating 2 of My Biggest Mistakes

Once bitten, twice shy.

Aldric Chen
The Startup

--

2 business partners staring at each other.
Photo by Surface on Unsplash

I enjoy working on my hustles and business.

It turns my crank on. I can go on and on and on typing online articles, running my 1-Man consulting practice, and ventures I partake in for days without end. I enjoy what I do.

That does not mean it is a bed of roses.

I am my problem.

I have my soft spot. I want to get engaged with as many businesses as possible. I love touching all pieces of a business.

And take a small profit from it.

Satisfaction + Profit = Happiness

Of course, it is not always a slam dunk. I’ve lost money on multiple occasions. With time, I learned.

How Long Does It Take to Cook?

Some businesses need time.

I don’t mean a long sales cycle. I can live with that.

I mean that it requires a heavy time commitment on my part. Take, for instance, the following.

  • 5 hours per day
  • 7 days a week
  • Be available 24/7

--

--

Aldric Chen
The Startup

24x Top Writer (as of June 2023). Serial eavesdropper. I capture interesting & uncomfortable real-life retirement / work-life stories the way they are.