The S.W.I.F.T. Way to Write Your Nonfiction Book

A New Method for First Draft Clarity

Cameron Chapman
The Startup
Published in
7 min readAug 1, 2020

--

I’m a firm believer that every entrepreneur should write a nonfiction book to help elevate their business. But the biggest thing holding most of them back is that writing a book is a big, scary project, especially if you don’t know how to get started or feel like your writing skills aren’t up to par.

I’ve written and published four non-fiction books, plus had chapters featured in another half dozen or so. I’ve also written and published somewhere in the realm of 1,000 articles (it could be more, I’ve given up keeping count) in the last 15 years. In other words, I know how to write and publish my work.

During all of that time, I’ve refined my approach to writing and come up with a system that I’m now referring to with the acronym S.W.I.F.T. (’cause everyone loves acronyms, right?).

Here’s how it breaks down:

Study

Image by Siora Photography

So you have a rough idea of what topic you want to write your book about. It might be based on your overall business strategy, your entrepreneurial philosophy, or even a specific aspect of your…

--

--