The Second Most Important Question Entrepreneurs Have to Answer During a Pitch

You surely know the most important question, but do you know what else matters?

Aaron Dinin, PhD
The Startup
Published in
4 min readApr 29, 2021

--

Image courtesy Pexels.com

One of the most important questions an entrepreneur has to answer during a pitch is: “What problem is my startup solving?” Heck, it’s probably the most important question your pitch has to answer.

It’s a critical question because entrepreneurship isn’t about innovating for innovation’s sake. Instead, entrepreneurship is about innovating to solve problems. If you’re not solving anyone’s problem, nobody will use what you’re building, and your venture will fail.

However, as important as that question is, it’s also misleading because it implies that all problems need to be solved.

They don’t.

Instead, lots of entrepreneurs struggle growing their companies because they’re so focused on solving a problem that they never stop to ask themself if they should solve it.

To explain why this matters, let me share a brief story about a trip to the grocery store with my daughter.

Cracking some eggs

I was grocery shopping with my four-year-old. She wanted to participate in one of those annoying, childish ways…

--

--

Aaron Dinin, PhD
The Startup

I teach entrepreneurship at Duke. Software Engineer. PhD in English. I write about the mistakes entrepreneurs make since I’ve made plenty. More @ aarondinin.com