The Startup Life: 6 months in

Ale Pliego
The Startup
Published in
4 min readNov 9, 2017

--

So I made it through 6 months, here are 6 things I learned along the way:

1. First impressions are not always right

My first day working at a startup was absolutely miserable. If I’m 100% honest, this happened mainly because I rolled in with a bit of a sh*tty attitude. I was used to the shiny marble lobby, the corporate dress code, and above all the structure that came with working at a large firm (“do this”/”do that”).

The week prior to starting my new job I had quit, taken the GMAT, and undergone nose surgery…girl was in need of a vacation, not a new job. I got in at about 9 a.m. and had no assigned computer and desk, on top of that I didn’t understand any assignment I was given, I didn’t even understand how the company worked in the first place.

After a pep talk from le boyfriend, I decided to give it a month, and then maybe explore my options. After the first month I was a bit more used to my new role, but I also realized I was having fun (in the geeky spectrum of fun, but still)…and so, a month became 6.

2. Different is different: not better, not worse, just different

Let’s go back to that “shiny marble lobby”. There rarely is such thing at a startup. But more often than not there’s a lounge, or puffs, or comfy chairs. There are several studies stating how office layouts or furniture impact productivity; and maybe they do on a small scale, but the truth is, if you like your job, these things are just props. Don’t judge a book by its cover.

3. Suits and ties do not equal power, intelligence, etc.

Think Mark Zuckerberg, Elon Musk, or your tech billionaire of choice. Again, don’t judge a book by its cover. Besides, in 2017 judging people by how they are allowed to dress at work just makes you look outdated. I’ll pick jeans over a pencil skirt EVERY time.

4. Learning takes place outside your comfort zone

Some days I’m way in over my head. At my old job I was on the far-right end of the learning curve, at this job there are times where I literally have no idea where to start with an assignment. Of course this is uncomfortable. It takes some humility to accept you don’t know how to do something, to ask someone for help, or to literally Google “How to X” (and even dare go to the infamous Google second page). But these experiences make you learn, not only about your job but also about yourself. Working for a new company that’s doing some kind of innovation transforms you into a creator of information rather than a consumer.

5. “That’s not my job description” never applies

My job description has only mattered when I wondered how to update my LinkedIn profile, and I’m not even sure I did it right. I’ve done everything from customer satisfaction, to client analysis, budget, process flowcharts, even decorating…and it’s been a joy ride.

6. A room where you’re the smartest person is the wrong room

Always surround yourself with people you look up to. At a startup you’ll likely interact with founders, investors, and kick-*ss people who, like you, are doing their best. Take in as much as you can, and give back to others as you grow.

7. BONUS : HAVE FUN

It took me so long to write this post I’ve made it to 7 months, so here’s my final word of advice: look for a job where you have fun (whether you think fun is doing crazy math, programming for hours, having after-office drinks or chatting up to co-workers). Having fun at work does not make you unprofessional or dumb, I find it generally makes you more motivated. And getting paid to do something that you actually like is the best feeling ever.

This story is published in The Startup, Medium’s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by 289,682+ people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

--

--

Ale Pliego
The Startup

Mexican, BizOps @ Nexu.mx, feminist, fierce quesadilla-making skills