The Surprising Inverse Relationship Between the Cost of Self-Care Methods and Their Effectiveness

You don’t always get what you pay for, but they don’t want you to know that.

Linda Smith
The Startup

--

For the self-care and wellness industries, business is booming. Everywhere I look, there are products, courses and programs offering you the gift of better health and less stress, for a price, of course.

The wellness industry, globally, is said to be a $4.2 trillion industry in 2017. Self-care is considered to be within the wellness umbrella, and their estimated worth is somewhere around $400 billion. That’s a lot of workout regimes and face masks.

I have nothing against self-care, per se. I recently took a quiz entitled “How High Maintenance Are You?” and scored almost embarrassingly high. Truth is, I like my massages, my essential oils, my freshly manicured nails and my complicated lattes. I enjoy my boutique barre classes, followed up, of course, by a $10 green smoothie.

I’m discovering something interesting, though: there seems to be an inverse relationship between the cost of self-care methods, and their effectiveness.

Put more bluntly, for the most part, the more you are paying for self-care, the less likely it is to actually make you less stressed…

--

--

Linda Smith
The Startup

content creator | creative | coffee-enthusiast | Enneagram 9