The Unfair Advantages of Good-Looking People in Business

Studies show that attractive people are more successful in business. Society thinks they don’t deserve it. But they fall for them anyway.

Kostas Farmakis
The Startup

--

Photo by Moose Photos from Pexels

“You, with your good looks, you had it very easy.” I was interviewing a renowned author and translator, and I asked him why some people seem to be overtly liked by others. Is it some like of charisma?

“People tend to admire better versions of themselves,” he told me. “And a good-looking person is what they want to look at, to do business with, to hire, to admire or love. If you have a pretty face, it’s much easier to find a job, to be accepted in a group and to succeed in life.”

I was fully aware that good-looking women have an advantage in the work arena (only because males are willing to hire them instead of equally qualified persons). Still, I hadn’t thought than men can have a similar advantage too mainly because I knew that I did not have it very easy.

Hard data and soft humans

I searched for the book Beauty Pays: Why Attractive People Are More Successful, by Daniel Hamermesh, an economist at the University of Texas. The data was overwhelming. According to many studies, “even in situations in which…

--

--

Kostas Farmakis
The Startup

I write for the living for the past 30 years. Expert in digital life, tech and traveling. Currently learning code and stand-up comedy. Don’t know my endgame.