The Work of Designer David Carson

Fredrick Royster
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJan 21, 2021

--

Ah, the 90s! They were my formative high school and college years and I have so many amazing memories of friends, family, amazing music, and my time at the University of Illinois.

Of course, there are some things about the 90s I would like to forget, like wearing my denim overalls with one strap off, candy ravers, phat pants, the JcPenny Arizona Jeans Company polo shirts that my sister loved to buy for me, the band TLCs early baggy day-glow clothing.

90s graphic design trends ranged from the beginning of the decade with bright bold colors and pastels, like the opening credit sequence of the popular tween sitcom Saved By The Bell.

There was the futuristic Y2K Aesthetic, that combined computer animation and modeling, slick plastic surfaces, anime influences, rave flyer art which can be seen in the work of the Me Company that did all of Bjork’s 90s graphic design.

--

--