There is no wasting time

Grace Mary Power
The Startup
Published in
4 min readMay 10, 2019

--

My Pi Xiu glass sculpture — photo by Celine Lai

Time

A series of linear moments or experiences, a measure of sequential natural biological or cosmic growth. A unit of measure of the progress of a staged activity with a defined goal.

Time and again I have felt like a failure. I was born a non-identical twin, after my sister, in 1963, two days before the Federated States of Malaya became the Federated States of Malaysia.

If I had my “time” again I would have lived happily with my birth parents and siblings, not been inter-country adopted and raised in another country, with another culture and race.

If I could wind back time, I would not have been molested by several brothers when I was 11 years old and witness to others being abused.

Fast forward to 30 years of age when I had spent the time in between then and coming to Australia at 15 months of age, surviving, along with supporting my sister.

We were alive and well, but what had we done with our time?

I had completed a Bachelor of Applied Science degree in Biology and a Post-graduate Diploma in Social Research and Evaluation, but not got work in either field, despite trying.

--

--

Grace Mary Power
The Startup

Editor of Thirty over Fifty. I help you to care for yourself through spirituality and tech. We need both.