These 3 Lessons Will Put Your Product And CX In The Top 1%

(They’re being used by 8-year-olds)

--

Recently, I crossed through a busy intersection to travel home. I had just finished attending the temple for my faith.

Because of this, I was wearing a suit. It was rather hot outside.

100 feet down the sidewalk, I could see out of the corner of my eye a budding young entrepreneur. He was probably between 7–9 years old.

I smiled. It brought back fond flashbacks of screaming and yelling at the end of my parents driveway to whoever was within earshot that we had art for sale when I was that age.

As I approached, however, I had a bus to catch. The intersection would change from stopped to walking soon. As he saw me coming, he knew his time was very limited. He acted fast.

What this young child taught me changed my life.

Since this day, I have understood marketing and customer experience completely differently.

What he taught me may surprise you.

Solve The Problem

As I walked up the sidewalk, he eyed me approaching and waited for me to come to a stop.

“Boy, it sure is hot out here, isn’t it?”

I hadn’t previously considered this. However, I was wearing a suit outside in the sun, and although not unbearable I was definitely not as comfortable as I could be.

Immediately sensing where this was going, I turned to my young salesman friend and replied that it was indeed hot.

“Would you like something to cool you off?”

I replied, asking what solution he had. I was impressed already by his marketing skills and charisma, but I wanted to hear his entire pitch.

The crosswalk stayed at a stop.

“Otter-pops for 50 cents.”

So far, I was surprised at his sales skills, but not overly shocked at the methodology. He was using the classic problem-agitate-solve method that has been taught within the walls of business schools across the globe for hundreds of years.

He clearly identified and directed my attention to a problem (the heat), pushed on that problem to agitate it and make it seem more important in my mind (by discussing it), and then he offered his solution to the problem (otter-pops), which just so happened to be the only solution in that very moment.

This was very brilliant but nothing I hadn’t seen before.

Kindly, I responded truthfully that I wasn’t sure if I had 50 cents on me. I knew I had some coins in my wallet and probably a quarter, but I couldn’t remember if I had two quarters or not. Not wanting to disappoint my young friend, and impressed by his use of problem-agitate-solve, I rummaged through my wallet.

He respectfully said,

“If you don’t have cash, I take Venmo.”

He gestured to the Venmo QR code plastered on the side of his cooler of otter-pops.

I was floored.

Solve The Problem In Accessing The Solution

Out of respect for him and his family, I didn’t ask his age. But this kid was probably eight years old. He just offered me Venmo to pay him for an otter-pop.

I finished finding my second quarter and handed them both over, so using my Venmo account was not necessary that day. Still, during my entire ride home I could not stop pondering this experience.

This child clearly understood a few important things:

  • First, he likely sold otter-pops before, and realizing that most adults in the US carry credit cards, gift cards, and Apple Pay, but certainly not cash and coins, he pivoted his marketing strategy to adapt to the needs of the customer quickly.
  • Second, his usage of both the problem-agitate-solve method coupled by his availability of Venmo signaled to me he likely had a wise mentor guiding him to have success in his new enterprise.
  • Thirdly, he taught me a lesson in solving the problem in accessing your solution.

It should be as easy to buy as possible. Yet, so often, we introduce so many unnecessary and complex barriers into the life of a customer just to obtain what they want.

Tesla is the most valuable auto manufacturing company in the world. How did they do this?

There are no salesmen. There are no dealerships. There is no haggling. There are no weird add-ons the finance and insurance office wants you to buy that you don’t need. There are no after-market offers. There is a very simple selection of packages and trims offered compared to most vehicles.

Instead, there’s a showroom, followed by a test drive, followed by an order of your Tesla through a kiosk (if you want to buy it). There are friendly associates (who do not get paid commission) to help you throughout the process.

Less friction. Far easier to buy than the dealership.

In the age of SEO, analytics, websites, and digital commerce this lesson ought to have become more relevant, but instead, it is so often forgotten.

Far too many marketers try to throw show much noise at the customer that they become confused.

Google.com displays a white screen and a search bar. That is all.

Make it easy for the customer to get what they want. Remove any and all barriers to getting them to buy.

What is your Venmo?

Solve The Problem Caused By Your Solution

I handed over my 50 cents, and my friend happily opened the cooler to allow me to choose from a wide variety.

I don’t even really like otter-pops. However, it was hot, I was impressed, and I was ready to buy.

As I selected my choice, he emotionally validated me for my purchase.

“That’s my FAVORITE one!”

He excitedly exclaimed.

I was impressed with his sales demeanor and skills and at this point I was ready to look back up at the cross-walk. I began to tear at the top of the plastic.

He kindly interrupted me again.

“Oh, I have scissors to cut it!”

He cut off the top of my otter-pop, and the crosswalk shifted. Knowing I will see this kid in some amazing places 10–15 years from now, I wished him an amazing day and walked across the street, new purchase in hand.

As I did so, I realized that his customer experience (CX) model was actually 3 levels deep.

Instead of merely offering a product that solves the solution, he solved any problems posed in accessing the solution.

Then, he solved the problems caused by the solution. Having an otter-pop actually causes problems more so than you might think. For every second you don’t have the top opened, the pop is melting in your hands and making them very cold at the same time.

Most companies are not willing to go this far.

Most companies will not solve the problem caused by accessing the solution because they have too much hubris about their product or service.

The truth is, every product causes problems.

Clothes have to be tried on and washed. Cars have to be washed and vacuumed. Phones have to be protected by a case. Software systems have to be on-boarded and the users have to learn the user interface. The list goes on and on.

The bottom line: no matter how good you think your product is, it is causing problems.

If you have happy customers buying your product, this means that the benefits provided by your product outweigh the costs. This does not mean that the costs posed by your product are nonexistent.

The cost-benefit analysis is not purely financial. There are emotional, psychological, and time-based costs with using your product.

As many of you well know, I am an avid reader of books. For every book I buy, that book requires space on my shelf, space in my brain, and time spent reading it.

These are all non-financial costs.

If I don’t buy a book, it’s not because of the dollar price. It’s because I literally don’t think reading and re-reading that particular book is worth my time.

There’s always a cost associated with buying, having, and using your product.

Figure out what that cost is, and find ways throughout the sales process to eliminate that very cost. Smartphone manufacturers have become very good at this. Both Apple and Samsung’s website conveniently point out that they will transfer all of your data from the other operating system over to your new phone. It’s easy to switch. The “switch” feature offered by smartphone manufacturers is their scissors.

Find your scissors.

Conclusion

Solve a problem for a specific person in a useful way. Most marketers and most companies understand this.

Solve the problems caused by accessing your solution. A good amount of companies understand this.

Solve the problems caused because of your solution. Few, I would argue less than 1%, of people truly get this.

Do these three things, and you’ll be marketing at a level 2–3X deeper than the average person.

Apply this 3-level framework to your business and let me know how it goes. This lens will be influencing how I approach problems from now on.

Ready For More?

Connect with me here on LinkedIn. I would love to hear what you learned and if this was helpful.

--

--

Elijah Corless

Elijah began reading business books at age 15. His work explains why people buy things, and how to structure organizations to enable them to.