Things I Did in 2023 I’m Giving up in 2024

Growing is also about letting go

Joseph Mavericks
The Startup

--

Look, everybody is always talking about New Year’s resolutions as things they want to implement in their life:

  • “This year, I want to start running”
  • “This year, I want to eat healthy”
  • “I want to save more money”
  • “I want to go on a nice vacation”

But what about the things you don’t want to do anymore? What about the things you want to give up? Becoming a better version of yourself is not only done through adding things to your life, but also by removing some. Letting go is also part of growing, and in this article, I’ll cover all the things I want to give up this year, and why. Maybe it can inspire you to switch the narrative around your New Year’s resolutions and write down a list of things you want to ditch (rather than add) as well.

In 2024, I want to stop…

Working at random times of the day

Since my girlfriend and I have had a baby, I’ve started working at random times of the day. Why? Because I never know when our very energetic baby will decide to go on a 2-hour playing marathon, a who-can-poop-the-biggest-turd contest, or when he will start being hungry one hour earlier…

--

--

Joseph Mavericks
The Startup

Living with a purpose and improving myself is changing my life — I also make Youtube videos: bit.ly/3QAEXTm