This is both the best and worst article I’ve written…

Alexander Brown
2 min readOct 5, 2019

--

No formatting. No pictures. No fancy quotes. Just pure rambling. I’m not going to bother pimping up this article. I’m not going to bother adding animated GIFs. All it does is just slow me down. These are “roadblocks” to what I really want to do: write and express myself.

I have this habit of fantasizing the end result: being a successful writer who is “free”. Free from the 9 to 5.

Then I start to write and after 1–2 stylish articles I end up taking a hiatus. Because frankly, I’m already burnt out pimping out all my articles and trying to perfect them.

I’m sure there must be a few of my types out there. Some of you are probably nodding your head reading this. You start with gusto and then get burnt out before you even make a start.

Check out my paragraphs. They don’t even flow well. But you know what? I couldn’t care less right now. In fact, I feel “free” right now. I don’t feel the need to confirm to any rules. I’m just writing. And it bloody feels great. I’m not revisiting my sentences. I’m not re-reading them. I’m just letting my hand write whatever it wants to.

You should try it too!

This is probably my worst article yet. No structure… nothing. But at the same time, it’s my best piece of work. It’s natural. It’s expressive. It has personality. It is me.

I’m writing this because I also want you to know it’s ok to start small. My “big dreams” end up becoming a hindrance. They’re so grand that I end up day dreaming more than the actual writing.

I simply need to get into the habit of writing more. And if it needs to start off like this then so be it.

I’m going to come back tomorrow and hopefully write another “rough article” like this. Let’s see if I stick to my plan this time…

--

--

Alexander Brown

Father of two & aspiring author/blogger. I have a passion for writing about three areas: technology, science and life. Website: howthingslink.com