This Is How To Prioritize Your Day

When your to-do list is epic and you don’t know where to start

Deb Knobelman, PhD
The Startup

--

It’s Monday morning and I just sat down at my desk in my home office.

My head is buzzing. I have been mulling over some thoughts about a corporate client project since yesterday afternoon. I listened to a podcast that gave me some great ideas about a strategy for their business. I’m eager to put some numbers together to see if it makes sense.

I also got an email from another corporate client yesterday. The client asked me to extend their current project into two new areas. But it was clearly an email dashed off on their phone in the midst of something else. So we agreed to talk this week to determine the scope and pricing of these additions. And I need to get my thoughts together for that before I speak with him.

Plus, I have writing to do, and a weekly newsletter to put together. And end of the month invoices to send out. I’m working from a client office all day tomorrow and I need to figure out the best use of my time while I’m there. And we’re having some issues with water pressure in our house. Do my kids need haircut appointments this week? And why does my dog smell so weird?

All these items feel both urgent and important. But which ones are priorities? Where do I start…

--

--